Denis Onyango To Race Against Salah, Mahrez For African Footballer Of The Year

South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns skipper and Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango has been nominated for African Player of year award for the year 2018, he will compete with 34 others for the African Player of year awards for the year 2018.

Denis Onyango has spent the top moments of his career in the South African Premier Soccer League  with MAmelodi Sundowns has  guided Uganda Cranes to a back to back return to the Afcon nations tournaments. Onyango has been tasked to race for the award with 2016 winner and Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez, Liverpool’s Mohammad Salah,  Sadio Mane and  Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang(Arsenal) among other African footballers.

The provisions list of star-studded footballers will however be trimmed to remain with the finest three players from whom the best will be crowned the African footballer of the year 2018 at  function to be held in Dakar, Senegal on January 8.

African player of the year award nominees:

Dennis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns)

Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria and ES Setif)

Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt and El Masry)

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria and Al Nasser)

Andre Onana (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Anis Badri (Cameroon and Ajax)

Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco and Hebei China Fortune)

Ben Malango (DR Congo and TP Mazembe)

Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar and Clemont Foot)

Franck Kom (Cameroon and Esperance)

Jacinto Muondo Dala “Gelson” (Angola and Primeiro De Agosto)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Ajax)

Idrissa Gueye (Senegal and Everton)

Ismail Haddad (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

Jean Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal and Napoli)

Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco and Raja Club Athletic)

Mehdi Benatia (Morocco and Juventus)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Moussa Marega (Mali and Porto)

Naby Keita (Guinea and Liverpool)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria and Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)

Percy Tau (South Africa and Union Saint – Gilloise)

Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Arsenal)

Riyaz Mahrez (Algeria and Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)

Taha Khenissi (Tunisia and Esperance)

Thomas Partey (Ghana and Atletico Madrid)

Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia and St Etienne)

Walid Soliman (Egypt and Al Ahly)

Wilfried Zaha (Cote D’Ivoire and Crystal Palace)

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria and Esperance)

Men’s national team of the year:


Guinea Bissau





Men’s coach of the year:

Corentin Martins (Mauritania)

Florent Ibenge (AS Vita and DR Congo)

Juan Carlos Garrido (Raja Club Athletic)

Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Nicolas Dupuis (Madagascar)

Patrice Carteron (Al Ahly)

Rachid Taoussi (ES Setif)

Herve Renard (Morocco)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Youth player of the year:

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Borussia Dortumund)

Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria and Leicester City)

Andre Onana (Cameroon and Ajax Amsterdam)

Ismaila Sarr (Senegal and Rennes)

Mahmoud Benhalid (Morocco and Raja Club Athletic)

Franck Kessie (Cote D’Ivoire and AC Milan)

Women’s national team of the year:





South Africa

Women coach of the year:

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)

Saloum Houssein (Mali)

Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.